Fall 2019 Seminars

Date Presenter Title
Wednesday, September 4
*Time: 4:30-5:30 pm
*Location: F45 Huntsman Hall
Marc Suchard – University of California, Los Angeles Large-scale Evidence Generation across a Network of Databases (LEGEND) for Hypertension: Real-world, Reliable and Reproducible
Wednesday, September 11
*Time: 4:30-5:30 pm
*Location: F45 Huntsman Hall
Ilya Shpitser – Johns Hopkins University Identification and Estimation of Causal Parameters via a Modified Factorization of a Graphical Model
Wednesday, September 18
*Time: 4:30-5:30 pm
*Location: F45 Huntsman Hall
Andrea Rotnitzky – Universidad Torcuato Di Tella Efficient Adjustment Sets for Non-parametric Population Average Causal Effect Estimation in Graphical Models
Wednesday, September 25
*Time: 4:30-5:30 pm
*Location: F45 Huntsman Hall
Colin Fogarty – Massachusetts Institute of Technology Testing Weak Nulls in Paired Observational Studies
Wednesday, October 2
*Time: 4:30-5:30 pm
*Location: F45 Huntsman Hall
Sham Kakade – University of Washington Prediction, Learning, and Memory
Wednesday, October 9
*Time: 4:30-5:30 pm
*Location: F45 Huntsman Hall
Fan Li – Duke University A Bracketing Relationship between Difference-in-Differences and Lagged-Dependent-Variable Adjustment
Wednesday, October 16
*Time: 4:30-5:30 pm
*Location: F45 Huntsman Hall
Constantinos Daskalakis – Massachusetts Institute of Technology Reducing ML Bias Using Truncated Statistics
Wednesday, October 23
*Time: 4:30-5:30 pm
*Location: F45 Huntsman Hall
Alex (Shaojie) Deng – Microsoft Analysis and Experimentation Team Trustworthy Post-selection Inference in A/B Testing
Wednesday, October 30
*Time: 4:30-5:30 pm
*Location: F45 Huntsman Hall
Weijie Su – University of Pennsylvania Gaussian Differential Privacy
Wednesday, November 6
*Time: 4:30-5:30 pm
*Location: F45 Huntsman Hall
Ming Yuan – Columbia University Information Based Complexity of High Dimensional Sparse Functions
Wednesday, November 13
*Time: 4:30-5:30 pm
*Location: F45 Huntsman Hall
Jacob Bien – University of Southern California Reluctant Interaction Modeling
Wednesday, November 20
*Time: 4:30-5:30 pm
*Location: F45 Huntsman Hall
Eric Bradlow – University of Pennsylvania Selecting Data Granularity Using the Power Likelihood
Wednesday, December 4
*Time: 4:30-5:30 pm
*Location: F45 Huntsman Hall
Shivani Agarwal – University of Pennsylvania Multiclass Learning with General Losses: What is the Right Output Coding and Decoding?
Wednesday, December 11
*Time: 4:30-5:30 pm
*Location: F45 Huntsman Hall
Ed George РUniversity of Pennsylvania Hospital Mortality Rate Estimation and Standardization: The Disaster of Medicare’s Hospital Compare