Course Requirements: Actuarial Science Concentration

The Actuarial Science Concentration is ending. Only students currently enrolled at UPenn and graduating in May 2023 at the latest will be able to concentrate (or minor) in Actuarial Science. Students who joined the University in Fall 2019 or earlier will be able to have a concentration in Actuarial Science.

Professor Jean Lemaire will continue to serve as the Academic Advisor for the Actuarial Science Program.  Students interested in the program are encouraged get in touch with their advisor and/or Jean Lemaire to discuss their options. The Department will be working with individual students to provide flexible options for the concentration.  We will continue to provide access to a study library of materials for the actuarial exams, and to pay the students’ actuarial exam fees (in accordance with current procedures as listed on the Department web page).

The concentration in actuarial science consists of four courses – one required and three electives.


STAT 451 / BEPP 451 – Fundamentals of Actuarial Science I


STAT 405: Statistical Computing with R (0.5 CUs)
STAT 422: Predictive Analytics (0.5 CUs)
STAT 433: Stochastic Processes
STAT 435: Forecasting Methods for Management
STAT 452 / BEPP 452: Fundamentals of Actuarial Science II
STAT 453 / BEPP 453: Actuarial Statistics
STAT 470: Data Analytics and Statistical Computing
STAT 471: Modern Data Mining

Other electives may be approved by the Director of the Actuarial Science Program, Professor Jean Lemaire (

Department of Statistics and Data Science

The Wharton School,
University of Pennsylvania
Academic Research Building
265 South 37th Street, 3rd & 4th Floors
Philadelphia, PA 19104-1686

Phone: (215) 898-8222